Phone: (715) 717-4121
Home > News > HSHS hospitals honor colleagues and physicians at recognition event


HSHS hospitals honor colleagues and physicians at recognition event

On May 1 at HSHS Sacred Heart and St. Joseph’s hospitals’ Colleague Service Awards banquet at the Florian Gardens, Andy Bagnall, president and CEO of Sacred Heart Hospital, and Charisse Oland, president and CEO of St. Joseph’s Hospital, announced the two hospitals’ colleague and physician award recipients.

Judy Pielhop, a registered nurse in the cardiac cath lab at Sacred Heart Hospital, has been named the 2018 recipient of the Father Klimek Healing Presence Award. Mona Klinger, a radiologic technologist in the radiology department at HSHS St. Joseph’s Hospital, has been named the 2018 recipient of the St. Joseph’s Keeper of the Tradition Award.

“With all the change that’s going on in health care, I feel that we provide very good care and no matter what our title is – or our role – we do our very best,” said Pielhop.

“My patients feel comfortable with me and I think that’s very endearing,” said Klinger.

Pielhop has worked at Sacred Heart Hospital for 35 years and Klinger has worked at St. Joseph’s Hospital for 26 years. Their awards are the highest honor a colleague can receive at the two hospitals. Each award recognizes a long-term colleague who has dedicated his or her life to being a humble servant of the sick.

Bagnall and Oland also announced that Mark Hofer, M.D., has been named Sacred Heart Hospital’s Physician of the Year for 2018, and Jill Hasenberg, D.O., has been named St. Joseph’s Hospital’s Physician of the Year for 2018. These awards are the highest clinical honor a physician can receive at the two hospitals.

Mark Hofer, M.D., joined HSHS Sacred Heart Hospital in July 1989, and is affiliated with Pathology Service Corporation. He received his medical degree at the University of South Dakota and completed residency training at University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics in Madison. Dr. Hofer currently chairs the credentials committee and both Sacred Heart and St. Joseph’s practitioner health committees. He serves as the department chair for pathology, serves as the laboratory medical director and is a member of the medical executive committee. Dr. Hofer is a member of the hospital’s bylaws committee and previously served as chief of staff for Sacred Heart Hospital.

Jill Hasenberg, D.O., joined HSHS St. Joseph’s Hospital in April 2006, and is affiliated with OakLeaf Clinics Eau Claire Medical Clinic – Chippewa Falls and provides medical coverage for St. Joseph’s Hospital’s L.E. Phillips-Libertas Treatment Center. She is originally from Chippewa Falls. She received her degree in osteopathic medicine from Des Moines University and completed her family practice residency at the University of Wisconsin Medical School – Fox Valley Family Practice Program in Appleton. Dr. Hasenberg currently serves as the medical staff vice president, the chair of the peer review committee, and was just recently voted in as the chair of the St. Joseph’s Hospital internal medicine/family medicine department.

Two hundred and one colleagues who have reached significant milestones (5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years) – with a combined total of 2,875 years of service – were honored at this year’s event. Recent retirees also were honored.

Media Contacts

Communications Department
Open 8am to 5pm, Monday through Friday
Contact: 715.717.4256

Shannon Portell

Karen Kraus


For reporters: 715.717.4747

Reporters are encouraged to contact us with media questions during or after business hours (no sales calls, please)