View up to date information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the Wisconsin Department of Health Services
You can also visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website or our HSHS COVID-19 page.
Phone: (715) 717-4121

Credentials and Accreditations

We have earned accreditations from the following organizations:

  1. The Joint Commission (TJC) the nation's preeminent hospital accreditation body, is an independent, not-for-profit organization that evaluates and accredits more than 16,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. TJC standards are regarded as the most rigorous in the industry to recognize the highest level of quality patient care.

    Sacred Heart Hospital has earned the Gold Seal of Approval, which demonstrates compliance with the most stringent standards of hospital performance. To earn and maintain accreditation, an organization must undergo an on-site TJC survey at least every three years. 
  2. Our Cardiac Rehabilitation program is certified through the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation (AACVPR). 
  3. Our Center for Imaging MRI, Ultrasound and Mammography programs are accredited by the American College of Radiology (ACR).
  4. American College of Surgeons' Commission on Cancer awarded us an exemplary seven of nine possible commendations. 
  5. Sacred Heart Hospital's Laboratory is accredited by the College of American Pathologists (CAP)  and the American Association of Blood Banks (AABB).
  6. CARF – Sacred Heart Hospital's L.E. Phillips Physical Rehabilitation Center is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF). This nonprofit organization conducts thorough evaluations of rehabilitation centers to ensure they conform to nationally recognized service standards, meet rigorous guidelines for service and quality, and focus on delivering the most favorable results for their patients. 
  7. Our Center for Imaging is accredited by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Mammography Quality Standards. 
  8. Wisconsin Medical Society accreditation for the hospital's Center for Medical Excellence to offer medical staff opportunities for American Medical Association Continuing Medical Education credits.
  9. Wisconsin Society for Healthcare Education and Training accreditation for the hospital's Center for Medical Excellence to offer Continuing Education Units for nurses. 
Our Designations, Certifications and Licenses   

In 2007, Sacred Heart Hospital received prestigious Primary Stroke Center certification by The Joint Commission, which evaluates and accredits nearly 15,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. The certification shows the hospital’s commitment to meeting rigorous national performance standards in stroke care and its ability to care for critical patients with unique and specialized needs. 

Sacred Heart Hospital is designated a Level III Trauma Center by the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services. Our Emergency Medical & Trauma Center, Centers for Critical Care and Surgical Intensive Care, Post Anesthesia Care, Center for Imaging, and Trauma Services have all passed rigorous tests to earn this distinction. 

Sacred Heart Hospital’s Birthing Center is a Level II Nursery, as defined in the guidelines for perinatal care through the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Our nursery is designed to meet the needs of premature infants and infants with other special care needs. 

Our Hospital's Cardiac Rehabilitation program is certified through the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation. 

Sacred Heart Hospital’s Laboratory is certified by Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) to perform high complexity testing. It is also licensed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Our Memberships and Affiliations

Sacred Heart Hospital is affiliated with the following organizations: 

Sacred Heart Hospital is an affiliate of Hospital Sisters Health System. Based in Springfield, Illinois, it is a ministry of the Hospital Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis, an international multicultural congregation of Franciscan Sisters.

Physician and Nurse Quality

Physician Board Certification: Physicians, like hospitals, also have credentials. Board certification, or the international equivalent, means that doctors have completed the amount of training that a specialty board requires. For example, with the introduction of Infinity HealthCare physicians in our Emergency Medical & Trauma Center in May 2007, Sacred Heart Hospital now has the only all board-certified emergency department staff in the region. We even have physicians that are board certified in multiple specialties. A board-certified physician has practiced for a specified period of time and passed rigorous written and oral exams. This certification is generally accepted as a strong indicator of a physician's competence and experience. Visit the American Board Of Medical Specialties (ABMS) to learn more about the more than 130 specialties and subspecialties or find out if your doctor is board certified. 

Physician Recruitment: Successful physician recruitment is important to accessible quality care. Sacred Heart Hospital has a reputation for innovation, advanced technology and quality that attracts highly skilled physicians and specialists. This synergy of technology and highly qualified professionals provides you with comprehensive services and excellent care. Recruiting some of the best and brightest and pioneering the latest technology also means that patients can receive advanced care close to home without having to travel to major metropolitan areas. Accessibility to specialized care is important, and having your doctor live in the area, instead of visiting the area weekly or monthly from a metropolitan area, is important to consistent care (particularly in emergencies). 

Nursing Credentials: In addition to being registered by the State of Wisconsin (as a Registered Nurse or RN), nurses may have additional specialized credentials that validate specialty knowledge and promote continuing excellence. For example, nursing certification in our Emergency Medical & Trauma Center include: ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support Certification); ENPC (Emergency Nursing Pediatric Certification); TNCC (Trauma Nursing Core Course Certification). 

Because of Sacred Heart Hospital's advanced neuroscience and neurosurgery services, other nursing specialties at Sacred Heart Hospital include CNRN (Certified Neuroscience Registered Nurse), the highest level of nursing accreditation in neuroscience. We also have CCRN (Adult, Pediatric and Neonatal Critical Care Registered Nurses), the highest level of nursing accreditation in these specialties. In addition to nurses with specialty certifications in our neurosciences, pediatrics, and emergency departments, more than 30% of our critical care nurses have either their CNRN or CCRN certifications.